Dotfuscator usage analysis

Jul 8, 2010 at 5:32 PM
I'm currently using usage tracking in my application. Can i set it by default legally? I tell that people can activate it by changing a value in a file but if i choose to track by default is it legal?
Jul 10, 2010 at 3:25 AM

First – let me say upfront that I am not a lawyer – and so you should not take anything I say as a direct answer to your question. On the other hand, I don’t think any lawyer would ever answer this question in this context (given all of the unknowns) – and so it’s possible that people like me (non-lawyers with an opinion) may be the only kinds of answers you’re going to find here.

In the continued spirit of full disclosure, I’m with PreEmptive, the makers of the analytics technology that you are using, and, in my role here, I have given this a lot of thought, consulted lawyers, and have the benefit of monitoring patterns and practices across a fairly broad array of development use cases.

Having backpedaled as much as I can, here are some factoids that I believe to be accurate and relevant.

The laws governing the collection and exploitation of user derived data vary widely by jurisdiction and, in some notable cases, are even contradictory. Without knowing who your users are (do they work for an employer who installs your software?) – where they are (what legal jurisdictions do they fall under?) – what your application does, in what context (is it running inside a hospital?) – it would be impossible to evaluate the legality of what you are doing. Having said that, i would say that in every case, you err on the side of over communication in everything that you do.