Swapping Reciprocal Licenses

Dec 8, 2007 at 4:06 AM
It's nice to hear that the Microsoft Reciprocal License and Microsoft Public License have been approved by OSI.

I find MS-RL to be much clearer than the current license that I'm using for one of my projects: GNU General Public License. In the opinion of the CodePlex team, does the MS-RL license provide at least as much protection as the GNU-GPL, in terms of distribution and reciprocity? If so, I'll probably switch :)

Thanks,
Dave
Dec 10, 2007 at 6:57 PM
Hi Dave - The answer to the question, "How much protection does license X provide?" depends on two things: What you want to be protected from and what your attorney's interpretation of the license is. The GPL and the MS-PL are two very different licenses, so a comparison is difficult at best. I can't really speak to the GPL. Although I've read it, I'm not an attorney, and I'm not an expert on the GPL. I can tell you, however, what our design goals were for the MS-RL. We set out to design a short, easily understood reciprocal license that provided clear patent grants to licensees, clear patent protection for the licensors, and well delineated boundaries for those who want to contribute back to the project, and those who don't . Because I am not a lawyer, I can't give you any legal advice or even a legal opinion on these licenses, but I can tell you that a vast majority of the Microsoft projects owners have found that the MS-RL and MS-PL meet their legal needs (Note that the MS-PL is just the MS-RL without the reciprocal clause). We've also had hundreds of non-Microsoft project owners choose to use one of these licenses for their projects. I hope this helps.

Jon
Dec 10, 2007 at 8:59 PM
Hi Jon,

Thanks, I appreciate the reply.